Upcoming Events


*Please note, the 2018-19 season titles will be announced early next week; however you can renew your subscription now.

Renew my 5-Opera Subscription Renew my 3 or 4-Opera Subscription


View by event type:

All Events Mainstage Performances Community Events Special Events



Behind the Curtain: <em>Rigoletto</em>
Wednesday, March 7, 2018 at 7:00 PM
Minnesota Opera Center

Get the inside scoop! Behind the Curtain explores the music, history, and production of each opera. Each event, held at the Minnesota Opera Center in Minneapolis, will feature talks and informative discussions with members of the cast and creative team.

Wed 3/7/18 7:00PM


MN Opera at Books and Bars: <em>Fool</em> by Christopher Moore
Monday, Mar 12, 2018 at 6:15
The Happy Gnome

This book club perfectly combines opera, literature, and beer! Join moderator Jeff Kamin and special guests, including Minnesota Opera President and General Director Ryan Taylor, for food, libations, and engaging conversations on books related to MN Opera’s 55th anniversary season. All are welcome to this moderated, opera-infused reinvention of the book club.


Schedule: 5pm-Social Happy Hour, 6:15 - Discussion Begins

Mon 3/12/18 6:15PM


Rigoletto
March 17 - March 31, 2018
Ordway Music Theatre | Ordway Center for the Performing Arts

Verdi’s sinister tragedy. This time-honored tale of seduction and bitter revenge is boldly imagined in this new production. The disfigured jester Rigoletto must do everything in his power to protect his innocent daughter from the lecherous Duke of Mantua before she falls into his clutches. Brimming with rich melodies and featuring the famous aria “La donna è mobile,” Rigoletto tragically unfurls as it races toward its devastating conclusion.

Sat 3/17/18 7:30PM
Thu 3/22/18 7:30PM
Sat 3/24/18 7:30PM
Sun 3/25/18 2:00PM
Tue 3/27/18 7:30PM
Thu 3/29/18 7:30PM
Sat 3/31/18 7:30PM


Taste of Opera: <em>Rigoletto</em>
Tuesday, March 27, 2018 at 5pm
Location: The University Club of St. Paul | 420 Summit Avenue , St. Paul, MN 55102

Enhance your opera-going experience with a Taste of Opera – a delicious pre-show meal and relaxed conversation with experts from the world of opera. Classical Minnesota Public Radio hosts an engaging look at Rigoletto with opera experts from Minnesota Opera as well as members of the cast and creative team.

Tue 3/27/18 5:00PM


Resident Artist Mixtape<br>
<i>20 years in the making</i>
April 8th, 2018 at 2:00 pm
Ordway Concert Hall | Ordway Center for the Performing Arts

Mix it up with your favorite Minnesota Opera Resident Artists as they perform their favorite tunes from opera, musical theater, and beyond. They’ve had 20 years to curate this program, just for you! Catch them one night only and pay want you want at this special Ordway Concert Hall performance.

Sun 4/8/18 2:00PM


MN Opera @ Books & Bars: <em>All the Ugly and Wonderful Things</em> by Bryn Greenwood
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 at 6:15
The Happy Gnome

This book club perfectly combines opera, literature, and beer! Join moderator Jeff Kamin and special guests, including Minnesota Opera President and General Director Ryan Taylor, for food, libations, and engaging conversations on books related to MN Opera’s 55th anniversary season. All are welcome to this moderated, opera-infused reinvention of the book club.


Schedule: 5pm-Social Happy Hour, 6:15 - Discussion Begins

Tue 4/24/18 6:15PM


Behind the Curtain: <em>Thaïs</em>
Location: Minnesota Opera Center

Get the inside scoop! Behind the Curtain explores the music, history, and production of each opera. Each event, held at the Minnesota Opera Center in Minneapolis, will feature talks and informative discussions with members of the cast and creative team.

Wed 4/25/18 5:00PM


<em>Thaïs</em>
May 12 - May 20, 2018
Ordway Music Theatre | Ordway Center for the Performing Arts

Spiritual conviction meets earthly desire. A devout monk seeks to convert Thaïs, a ravishingly beautiful courtesan, but realizes too late that his pious obsession is rooted in lust, not religion. Minnesota Opera produces Massenet’s sensual and melodic creation for the first time with Minnesota-born soprano Kelly Kaduce (Rusalka, Tosca, The Shining) in the glamorous title role. Set in the deserts and oases of fourth-century Egypt, this searing drama explores the conflict between the passion of the flesh and the salvation of the soul.

Sat 5/12/18 7:30PM
Tue 5/15/18 7:30PM
Thu 5/17/18 7:30PM
Sat 5/19/18 7:30PM
Sun 5/20/18 2:00PM


MN Opera @ Books and Bars: <em>Fellow Travelers</em> by Thomas Mallonand
Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 6:15
Location: The Happy Gnome

This book club perfectly combines opera, literature, and beer! Join moderator Jeff Kamin and special guests, including Minnesota Opera President and General Director Ryan Taylor, for food, libations, and engaging conversations on books related to MN Opera’s 55th anniversary season. All are welcome to this moderated, opera-infused reinvention of the book club.


Schedule: 5pm-Social Happy Hour, 6:15 - Discussion Begins

Tue 5/22/18 6:15PM


<em>Fellow Travelers</em>
June 16 - June 23, 2018
Goodale Theater | The Cowles Center

The story of a forbidden love affair between two men in 1950s McCarthy-era Washington, D.C., Fellow Travelers is a searing opera infused with political drama, unexpected humor, and sincere heartbreak. A chance encounter between recent college graduate Timothy Laughlin and handsome State Department official Hawkins Fuller results in Tim’s first job—and his first love affair with a man. As McCarthy mounts a desperate bid for power and internal investigations focus on removing “sexual subversives” in the government, Tim and Fuller find it increasingly dangerous to navigate their double lives.

Sat 6/16/18 7:30PM
Sun 6/17/18 2:00PM
Tue 6/19/18 7:30PM
Thu 6/21/18 7:30PM
Sat 6/23/18 7:30PM
Tue 6/26/18 7:30PM


La Rondine
October 6 - October 14, 2018
Ordway Music Theatre | Ordway Center for the Performing Arts

Which Life Would You Choose? From the composer of Madame Butterfly and La Bohème, this rarely performed gem tells the story of an unlikely relationship between Magda, a high-society woman and a naïve, handsome poet. But the fate of their courtship is uncertain as Magda is torn between the life she wants and the life she knows. Puccini’s achingly beautiful score charmingly conveys the romantic bliss and irrational desires of unexpected lovers. Wistful and nostalgic, La Rondine revels in the gaiety of Paris, the stinging sorrow of regret, and the sensual richness of love.

Sat 10/6/18 8:00PM
Tue 10/9/18 7:30PM
Thu 10/11/18 7:30PM
Sat 10/13/18 7:30PM
Sun 10/14/18 2:00PM


Silent Night
November 10 - November 17, 2018
Ordway Music Theatre | Ordway Center for the Performing Arts

All Is Calm, All Is Bright. Minnesota Opera’s Pulitzer Prize-winning, international sensation makes its homecoming, honoring the centennial of World War I’s conclusion. Recounting a miraculous moment of peace during one of the bloodiest wars in human history, Scottish, French, and German officers defy their superiors and negotiate a Christmas Eve truce. Silent Night masterfully weaves together songs from home and serene lyricism, standing as a heartfelt hymn to our common humanity, underscoring yearning, despair, and ultimately, hope.

Sat 11/10/18 7:30PM
Sun 11/11/18 2:00PM
Tue 11/13/18 7:30PM
Thu 11/15/18 7:30PM
Sat 11/17/18 7:30PM
Sun 11/18/18 2:00PM


The Italian Straw Hat
January 26 - February 23, 2019
Ordway Music Theatre | Ordway Center for the Performing Arts

Brimming with Laughs. This uproarious comedy, by the composer best known for The Godfather film scores, comes to Minnesota Opera for the first time ever. Groom-to-be Fadinard gallops around Paris on his wedding day in search of a replacement straw hat for the one his horse has inadvertently eaten. The bright and breezy score perfectly captures the increasingly ridiculous situation that rides on the edge of chaos. After seeing this 1950s madcap romp, you’ll never look at a hat—or a night at the opera—the same way again!

Sat 1/26/19 7:30PM
Tue 1/29/19 7:30PM
Thu 1/31/19 7:30PM
Sat 2/2/19 7:30PM
Sun 2/3/19 2:00PM


The Fix
March 16 - 24, 2019
Ordway Music Theatre | Ordway Center for the Performing Arts

Shoeless Joe and the 1919 Black Sox Scandal. One of the most notorious scandals in American history comes to life in this new, major league opera. The 1919 Chicago White Sox were arguably the best team in the game, but they were also the most poorly paid, always at odds with their penny-pinching owner. Resentment, revenge, and ambition gone awry motivate the eight players to conspire with gamblers and fix the World Series. Featuring a lyrical, poetic score and legendary figures from baseball, The Fix is a tale of epic proportions about betting against the establishment, all set against the backdrop of America’s favorite pastime.

Sat 3/16/19 7:30PM
Tue 3/19/19 7:30PM
Thu 3/21/19 7:30PM
Sat 3/23/19 7:30PM
Sun 3/24/19 2:00PM


La Traviata
May 4 - 14, 2019
Ordway Music Theatre | Ordway Center for the Performing Arts

To Live and Die for Love. Verdi’s sumptuous melodies and timeless depiction of tragic love have made La Traviata an undeniable favorite for generations. Violetta, a glamorous courtesan, gives up everything for her devoted lover Alfredo—only to have their idyllic love affair shattered when the stern demands of Alfredo’s father spell disaster for the enraptured couple. From the frenzy of Violetta’s pleasure-filled life, to her heart-wrenching decision to leave her beloved—Verdi’s treasured opera is a captivating tribute to what it means to live and die for love.

Sat 5/4/19 7:30PM
Thu 5/9/19 7:30PM
Sat 5/11/19 7:30PM
Sun 5/12/19 2:00PM
Tue 5/14/19 7:30PM
Thu 5/16/19 7:30PM
Sat 5/18/19 7:30PM
Sun 5/19/19 2:00PM